Academic advisory board

The coronarchive  is supported by an academic advisory board. Its members are from the digital humanities, archival studies, public history, and related fields. We benefit not only from their expertise but from the opportunity they offer us to network with other Covid19/coronavirus collection projects.

David Dean

Centre for Public History, Carleton U, Ottawa

David Dean is a professor of history and a co-director of the Centre for Public History at Carleton University in Ottawa, Canada. He is a co-editor of the journal International Public History and a member of the steering committee of the International Federation for Public History.  David is currently working with curators at Canada’s Ingenium on everyday adaptations of science and technology due to COVID-19.

Ellen Euler

FH Potsdam

Ellen Euler is a professor of open access, open data, and open science at the Potsdam University of Applied Sciences. She specializes in electronic publishing, copyright and information technology law, privacy law, and aspects of information ethics related to publication processes and licensing models for the publication of articles, data, etc. (i.e. Creative Commons).

Tanya Evans

Centre for Applied History/Macquarie U Sydney

Tanya Evans is the director of the Centre for Applied History at Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia. As a public historian, she focuses on family history, motherhood, and poverty. She is passionate about co-creating historical knowledge with diverse communities.

Dennis Grunendahl

Prora-Zentrum Rügen

Dennis Grunendahl grew up in Dortmund. He studied history in Bochum and Münster in preparation for a career in civic education. After freelancing as an instructor for National Socialist and GDR history at various institutions and historical learning facilities for several years, he now works as a scientific associate at the Prora Center on Rügen

Rainer Hering

LASH Schleswig

Prof. Dr. Dr. Rainer Hering is the director of the Schleswig-Holstein State Archive, a professor of German history at Universität Hamburg, and an honorary professor at the Christian-Albrechts-Universität in Kiel. He specializes in German history, university history, the history of science, and archival studies. Rainer Hering is the chair of the Archives Committee of the German Studies Association (GSA).

Mareike König

DHI Paris

Dr. Mareike König heads the Department of Digital Humanities and the library at the German Historical Institute in Paris. She is also the project leader of, the German-language blog portal for the humanities and social sciences. She researches 19th-century German-French history, science communication on social media, and digital history.

Stefan Krebs

2DH, U Luxembourg

Stefan Krebs is an assistant professor for contemporary history and head of public history at the Luxembourg Centre for Contemporary and Digital History (C2DH). He is a co-initiator of, a platform for collecting COVID-19-related memorabilia, and the PI of the COMEM project, funded by the Luxembourg National Research Fund (FNR), on further developing the technology and the collection of the platform.

Svenja Kunze

HIS Hamburg

Svenja Kunze is a historian and archivist. From 2013 to 2019, she was based at the Bodleian Library at the University of Oxford, where she worked on the archival storage of websites for the Legal Deposit UK Web Archive among other things. She has been the head of the Hamburg Institute of Social Research archive since 2020.

Philipp Osten

Hamburg Museum of Medical History 

Philipp Osten is the director of the Institute of the History and Ethics of Medicine at the University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE) and of the Hamburg Museum of Medical History.

Gabriele Woidelko


Gabriele Woidelko is a historian and Slavicist. She has been the head of the department of history and politics of the Körber Foundation in Hamburg since 2018. Before her current appointment, she worked on the establishment of the European history network EUSTORY and contributed to the development of an international program on the politics of memory at the Körber Foundation.

Ruth Rosenberger

Haus der Geschichte

Ruth Rosenberger is the director of digital services at the Haus der Geschichte der Bundesrepublik Deutschland Foundation. As a contemporary historian, she is responsible for the digital strategies of the museums in Bonn, Leipzig, and Berlin.

Alexander Schatek

International Centre for Archival Research (ICARUS)

Mag. Alexander Schatek was born in 1961 in Vienna. He studied industrial design and has worked as a graphic designer since 1989. In 2010, he was one of the founders of 
. As the manager of the platform, he is responsible for planning, support, workshops, supervising current projects, and internal and external communication.

Ulf Schmidt

Universität Hamburg

Ulf Schmidt is a professor of modern and contemporary history at Universität Hamburg and a fellow of the Royal Historical Society (UK). He has worked extensively on the history of medicine and medical ethics in the 20th century and is one of the principal investigators of the ERC research project “Taming the European Leviathan: The Legacy of Post-War Medicine and the Common Good.”

Mark Tebeau

"A Journal of the Plague Year", Arizona State U

Prof. Dr. Mark Tebeau is a professor of public history at Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ (USA). He is a co-founder and one of the directors of the online coronavirus archive “A Journal of the Plague Year: An Archive of Covid-19”.

Malte Thießen

LWL-Institut für westfäliche Regionalgeschichte

Malte Thießen is the head of the LWL-Institute for Westphalian Regional History and an adjunct professor in modern and contemporary history at the University of Oldenburg. His specializations include the history of infectious diseases and pandemics, the history of the Third Reich, research on cultures of remembrance and contemporary witnesses, and the history of digitalization.

Sophie Reinlaßöder

Archiv der Arbeiterjugendbewegung

Sophie Reinlaßöder studied empirical cultural studies, educational science, and cultural education and Management at the University of Tübingen, the Niederrhein University of Applied Sciences and Stockholm University. From 2013 to 2017, she worked as a museum educator at the Museum Abteiberg in Mönchengladbach and at the House of History Baden-Württemberg in Stuttgart. Since 2018, she has been based at the Archive of the Workers’ Youth Movement in Oer-Erkenschwick, where she works as an archive educator. Her specializations are the workers’ youth movement and history education. She is a member of the North Rhine-Westphalia state jury for the Presidential History Contest.